Gluten-Free Diet

Celiac disease is characterized by sensitivity to gluten, a protein found in grains. It causes problems in absorbing gluten as a result of damage to the lining of the small intestine. Treatment is a gluten-free diet. It is important that this diet is gluten-FREE and not simply low in gluten. This diet is followed throughout the person’s life, even after the symptoms disappear. The diet should be balanced and provide all necessary nutrients.

Gluten is found in 4 grains: wheat, barley, oats and rye. Any food that contains those four grains will have gluten – pasta, breads, cakes, etc. Any other food is okay – meats, fish, cheeses, eggs, milk, fruits and vegetables, corn, rice, potatoes and sweet potatoes. Sometimes, food that may not originally contain gluten gets processed and can become contaminated with gluten.

It is important to read food packaging labels!
In the food industry, wheat flour or starch are used for different purposes. Sometime, the food itself does not contain gluten, but is made on a conveyor belt that had previously contained gluten. That’s why it is so important to read the labels. The law requires a product t state whether or not it contains gluten, but that does not always happen. Therefore, the Israeli Celiac Association has printed a guide for gluten-free foods and medications.

Do not eat food if you are unsure if it contains gluten!